imagrownup

by @kelsocks

Workout DVDs, How I Love Thee

Let me begin by saying I spent the first 19 years of my life avoiding any kind of exercise.  Then, as with most of us, as I grew up my metabolism slowed down so I began to take fitness more seriously.  Spurts of athletic enthusiasm and periods of guilty procrastination punctuated the first several months of my attempt to get in shape.  This was my basic strategy: 2-4 days a week begrudgingly attempt jogging or one of my mother’s outdated workout tapes. Then, feeling a false sense of accomplish having gone through the motions of working out, overeat and destroy any potential benefit I may have had from exercise.  Needless to say I wasn’t getting the kind of results I wanted.  I had no idea what it took to be committed to a healthy lifestyle.

Then, as cheesy as it sounds (I hate the fact I’m about to publish this– I sound like a fucking infomercial), I came across a workout series that changed my life. I received Tony Horton’s P90X as a gift (shoutout to Rocks).  I’d seen the infomercial late at night and was intrigued by the straightforward, no shortcuts, results-based approach to fitness.  Unlike so many frivolous As-Seen-On-TV products promising unbelievable results, Horton’s attitude of was different. He didn’t try to sugarcoat the amount of work it takes to get fit.  Soon after consistently integrating P90X workouts into my routine, I started seeing the results that have since kept me motivated for the long term.

For the past four years I’ve kept it tight using at-home workout DVD series like P90X, Slim in 6, TurboFire, Chalene Extreme, and Insanity, and I can’t praise them enough.

Here are 5 reasons why DVD workouts are great:

1) Privacy.  These workouts are fantastic for the socially retarded, gym-shy, and the self-conscious because you can do them in the privacy of your own home.  Most of these workouts require little equipment (weights or bands and a yoga mat will suffice) and a minimum of about 5×8 square feet of floor space.  For the past two years my gym has been a square of carpet next to my bed.  It’s not fancy but it works (and it’s free).  You also don’t need to worry about looking gross or stupid so you can more fully concentrate on what your body is doing.

2) Engagement.  With so much competing for our attention these days, one roadblock to fitness can be having to disconnect from the world to focus on physical activity.  These videos help curb athletic A.D.D. by grabbing your attention in much the same way any other TV show does– dialogue, music, quick cuts, catchphrases– all there to keep you engaged in your fitness.  I can’t speak for everyone, but if I try sitting in a quiet room to count off squats or crunches by myself, I always magically end up sitting back at my computer fucking around on the internet, so it’s extremely helpful to have cues provided by an instructor.

3) Accountability. Part of why these DVDs have so many success stories is because they create a sense of accountability towards oneself and the program that will keep you coming back each day until it’s a fully integrated habit. Not only do they provide calendar style workout plans, but the fitness gurus will keep you motivated toward consistency.  They’re charismatic, positive, educational, and inspirational (although not everyone will like every instructor’s personality– it’s important to find someone you can stand listening to for an hour a day).

4) Thoroughness & Versatility.  A lot of people get going with fitness but poop out from boredom when they hit a plateau. Sometimes this is because we get in the habit of only working on the things we know we’re already good at (Runners only running, weight lifters only lifting, yogis only yogiing, etc.) because we feel confident in those areas.  It’s an easy trap, but we can only improve if we get out of our comfort zones.  That’s easy to forget if you’ve been active for a while because when you do the same thing over and over, you get so good that you can’t remember what it feels like to struggle.  These DVD workouts involve an array of activities to keep the body challenged (cardio, strength, martial arts, dance, yoga, plyometrics, interval training…) as well as tips on how to intensify each workout to challenge you as you progress, thus warding off dreaded plateaus.

5) Education.  Finally, and perhaps the most important key to long term success, is how these programs attempt to educate viewers so they have the tools to make healthy decisions on their own.  Being healthy is a 24 hour job, so that’s 23 hours away from our instructors that we are free to sabotage their good influence.  I’ve found that these programs not only provided useful information (by way of the literature included with the DVDs as well as the tips given throughout each video), but they also catalyzed a desire to learn more on my own.  I’ve since taken fitness and nutrition classes and read up on the subject on my own.   It is only by getting educated on health and fitness that you can learn how to make smart decisions by yourself.

These are a few of the main reasons I love workout DVDs.  Having said all this, it’s important to remember the following:  First, check reviews of workouts.  Obviously the more success stories there are the more likely it works (or maybe it just has great marketing…).  I’m particularly biased in favor of Beachbodys programs because of my own success with them.  Of course if you do any fitness consistently you’ll see results, so no one “needs” these series per say, but they are helpful.  Secondly, don’t forget about the great outdoors!  It’s good to mix up your routine by getting active in actual sunlight doing real things– running, biking, hiking, rock climbing, swimming, whatever.  Sprinkling in these fun activities will help keep you on track with a healthy lifestyle. There are also some things you simply can’t do in your living room, like improving your distance run, so don’t forget to take to the streets.

I hope this has been the slightest bit helpful to someone.  After all, fitness not only improves your physical well being, but also your mental health.  It reduces stress and builds confidence, so get moving!

100 responses to “Workout DVDs, How I Love Thee

  1. Danno February 21, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Awesome stuff Kelso! Couldn’t agree more with the last two sentences. I know Aimee gets a ton out of DVDs as well, I even join her every once in awhile. Your post has inspired me to write one of my own regarding the same subject, I’ll get it up soon and post a reference to yours!

  2. Stephanie April 13, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    You know, I have been guilty of being a runner who only ran (interspersed with the occasional half-hearted weights session) and have found that variety is essential to both preventing overtraining and injuries as well as keeping myself mentally engaged. DVDs (via netflix, actually) are how I started some yoga, and will probably lead to other new experiences too. My real challenge is weather: I strongly prefer exercise outdoors but hate wet feet.

  3. becomingcliche April 13, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    I loved, loved LOVED my workout DVD, but I never lost weight. Someone said I’m supposed to actually DO the workout. That seems wrong to me.

  4. mplsgossipgirl April 13, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Thank you for sharing this!

  5. Megy April 13, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    I just started P90x. It’s rough but I LOVE it!

  6. Tatiana April 13, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Nice post! I also love workout DVDs, mostly for the ease and privacy.

  7. excerptsofawkwardness April 13, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Nice post! I joined a gym for awhile, thinking that going to classes would keep me motivated, but found that I always had an excuse to not go – even the five minute drive to get there created enough distance that I found ways to avoid it. When it’s on my computer, right in front of me, it’s a lot harder to rationalize ways to get out of it.

  8. iamdaydreaming April 13, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    Very true! I do insanity regularly and I love it. I think it’s easier to follow a video workout than to go to the gym and just stopping when you get tired.

    Continue doing what you do!

  9. Miss305 April 13, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Im starting to get into these, but always get bored with Jillian Michaels, and I only do my 1/4 mile sprints twice a week. So I will be starting the P90X tonight when I get home from work…here goes! Great post! 😀

  10. lilterarymommy April 13, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    I’ve spent the past 10 months (almost from the day my daughter was born) swearing up and down that I was going to start working out…next week. I’m not overweight, and am actually considered too thin by many of my friends and family, but I’m woefully out of shape. I wouldn’t have the strength or lung power to run if someone was chasing me. That being said, you’ve convinced me. I just asked my darling husband to buy the DVDs so we can start the program. I hope it works as well for us as it did for you!

  11. tryingtoknowthyself April 13, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    Hahaha I was the exact same way,it took me 17 years to figure out workout DVD’s are awesome. I’m personally into the Julian Michael’s DVDs. Their super short but very thorough.
    I will say that when I started I did some other DVD’s and I wasn’t properly warmed up and I ended up injuring myself. It led to a very awkward physical therapist conversation…

  12. Mom Meets Blog April 13, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    I love my DVD’s and have recently checked out some streaming workouts via Netflix. Congrats on the Freshly Pressed!

  13. 4MyLifeFitness April 13, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Yes, you sound like a fucking infomercial. LOL! I finished P90X not too long ago and soon I’ll be starting Insanity (God help me). I like P90X because you’re not doing the same thing everyday. I’ve done a Jillian Michaels DVD and was bored as hell after about 3 days. Anyway, great post!

  14. 4MyLifeFitness April 13, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Yes, you sound like a fucking infomercial. LOL! I finished P90X not too long ago and pretty soon I’ll be starting Insanity (God help me). I like P90X because everyday you’re doing something different. I once did a Jillian Michaels DVD and was bored after 3 days. Anyway. great post!

  15. Lanny Farmer April 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    p90x will kick your ass, but it’s definitely worth it.

  16. montanasouthernbelle April 13, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    I can’t seem to keep up with work out dvds. =-(

  17. journeyskinny April 13, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    I love the title. It’s fun to just let loose and have fun with being in great shape and being just simply your best.

  18. Candice Nolan April 13, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    More of a gym attendee myself, with the odd run round the block for some fresh air. Need the motivation of driving to the gym to make me do it! Have tried some thought. However, you are right about the DVD presenter having to be likeable – some of them drove me mad. I could also never get my head around yoga dvd’s either. Sun salutation anyone?

  19. Elizabeth Grochan April 13, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    I recently started Insanity (just completed week 2) and so far I love it! Not only do I love the variety of the workouts, the instructor is enthusiastic and motivating. I also enjoy how you can see how the people working out in the video are truly pushing themselves, and even as in shape as they are they too get tired since this video pushes you to your individual limits. I like this because the workout will never get to the point where it is ‘stale and easy’. You are always working and pushing yourself.
    The included meal plan is also easy to prepare and so far I have enjoyed every meal I have made! I agreed with everything you posted and I am glad you shared 🙂 Seeing how you have stuck with it gives me hope that I to can do the same!

  20. WhitLikesFit April 13, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I absolutely love my Jillian Michaels’ DVDs.

  21. laurapalukaitis April 13, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Your list is great! Those are exactly the reasons I love workout DVDs too – not to mention you get more bang for your buck!

  22. janelouphotography April 13, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    I personally love workout DVD’s. I find myself smiling all the way through, and it’s a great alternative to the gym when you don’t feel like mindlessly jogging whilst staring at the wall for an hour on the treadmill. They’re not expensive to purchase, but are always available at the library!

  23. Sarah Harris April 13, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    I’ve been dying to try P90X. I used to do a lot of Kathy Smith videos and had good response. My only concern is I live in an apartment, not a very solid one, and if I start moving and bouncing too much, the apartment floor and ceiling shake. You would think I weight 400 lbs from the movement, which I don’t, but it’s just a crappy old construction. In any case, i love reps of stuff if it’s not too much aerobic bouncing. I go outside to run for that stuff. let me know!

  24. Dr. Brown April 13, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    I tried P90x for the first time. Day 1 was on April 1st, and I injured myself with the Chest & Back video…and I STILL love P90x. I’m going back to it this weekend. BIG COINCIDENCE…my latest post was also about P90x. Click here to read: http://robertdaylin.wordpress.com

  25. Kelsocks April 13, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    I’m so thrilled to see this kind of response in favor of workout DVDs! I’m glad they’re helping others the way they helped me.

  26. Quamia Ross April 13, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    I absolutely love the versatility of work out dvds. I’ve been completely sold since trying Billy Blanks Taebo workouts. I was a bit reluctant to try exercise dvds at first because I was afraid the workouts wouldn’t be as intense or effective as utilizing gym equipment, but to my surprise, I was proven wrong. After moving on to Shaun Ts Insanity (I completed this one twice) and Leandro Carvalho’s Brazil Butt Lift, I realize that workout DVDs are equally effective (and sometimes more) as using gym equipment. I prefer working out at home because of the privacy and various exercises. Also, the instructors give me the feeling of having my own personal trainer. I love the encouragement and accountability they present me with. I still enjoy going for a long run outside during the warm weathers but workout DVDs truly rock! Awesome post btw!!!

  27. hsk100 April 13, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    The first paragraph described my life! I do love workout DVDs though 🙂 I’m not into exposing my lack of rhythm to the entire world so the privacy is one of the most attractive features for me!
    Great post 😀

  28. Leesa D April 14, 2012 at 12:24 am

    After my last session with Jillian Michaels I vowed to never do another workout DVD again. But after reading about your love for them I think you may have inspired me to give it one more shot. Look out Jillian, I’m on my way to being…shredded.

  29. ksenija April 14, 2012 at 1:09 am

    i love love love workout dvds!no people in front, no at the back, i can turn it up to my volume, and press play, i can scream “yes!!!” when i smash it without being embarassed about it lol!and i love p90x, it just simply works.i dont know if you heard about it, but make sure you try Insanity by Shaun T, it will rock your world:)

  30. Flat at Bangalore April 14, 2012 at 3:09 am

    Reall days are becoming mechanical … same work, same food….

  31. Jae April 14, 2012 at 5:24 am

    Couldn’t have said any better! I have a copy of TurboFire, and the 15-min and 20-min HIIT Class have been my favorite especially when I don’t have much time to spare to train on the gym. 🙂

  32. SimplySage April 14, 2012 at 8:32 am

    Useful information. Thanks. If these DVD’s spike in purchase hope you get a cut ! 🙂

  33. Marti Parham April 14, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Nice post! I love workout DVDs. Trying to get someone to burn me a copy of the 7-disc Zumba series now :-). Congrats on being Pressed!

  34. dreamlifemoments April 14, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Makes me smile big when I come across someone who discoverd the Beach Body workouts- we seem to all have the same story- This was the first infomercial that I believed- too bad it took me so long to get started. But Today I’m 40 – look like I’m 30 and feel like I’m 25 -Tony ROCKS! P90X changed everything- and now I’m also having a love affair with running! – Last week, I was on teambeachbody.com and searched out a certified Beach Body trainer- well, turns out there is one near me- so guess what? 3 days a week, I will be doing P90X, Insanity, P90X2, Chaleen…..every beachbody workout along with a Tony Horton Grad! He’s my FREE personal trainer and pumps me up! All the Beach Body Workout Classes are FREE- so find one near you- and don’t worry- all levels are welcome- we have 21 year olds up to 63 year olds in our class- All with the same goal, to get the most out of the life we’ve been given! Keep writing and remember, Do your best and forget the rest!

  35. Pingback: wordpress.com~SansNom.html | achhoubi

  36. A Changing Altar April 14, 2012 at 11:08 am

    The most common review I hear about PX90 is “It is AMAZING! But it’ll make you puke. I promise.”
    I’m not sure how I feel about a workout plan that makes you puke in your first week doing it.
    My fiance bought it but hasn’t used it yet; should I warn him about the vomiting? Did ayone have this experience?

  37. curvyelvie April 14, 2012 at 11:20 am

    You are into work workout dvd’s like me. Unfortutately I haven’t found the one dvd series that I like. Oh, I move on lol. Great blog!

  38. ksmahoney April 14, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I loved this post! I usually run outside, but some days it’s so hard to motivate myself to get out the door. I can almost always work up the motivation to exercise in my living room though. DVDs definitely come through in the clutch and have come a long way since the 80s leotards!
    Sara from http://www.losingtogether.com

  39. Janit Calvo April 14, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Thanks for the pep talk and the recommendations. I needed this. ;o)

  40. xuantian April 14, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    This is absolutely helpful for me. Btw, I enjoying jogging, the outdated workout method, very very much! Keep up the good work. Cheers.:)

  41. Lynda April 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    Excellent post and I sort of giggled when you read the part of overeating and sabotaging your workout. I wasn’t laughing at you but instead with you, as I thought OMG it’s me!! I consider myself to be a Home DVD Whore. My hubby cringes when I mention Jillian Michaels and Personal Training with Jackie. Both 30 minute work-outs, with freelance writing, working on my first book and looking after the twins, time is not something I have a lot of. I LOVE JM’s DVD’s 30 Day Shred gave me the best results. I have heard so many great things about the P90X program, I’m pretty sure I even saw Pink talking about it on a talk show. The cost is what deters me from it…I also have a gym membership It’s “my out” from the kids. But when I can’t make it I pop in a Home DVD and the twins call it “jumping”. Great post! Is it safe to assume you are no longer overeating then?

  42. wearywanderer64 April 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    I needed to work out at home and somebody suggested the Cyndi Crawford work out video. I laughed, but tried it out. I must say it was great. So I’mall for woork out videos. Plus gymns have become too expensive.

  43. Deborah DeLong April 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Thanks for the recommendations!

  44. enagee April 14, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    Just got into Insanity and i’m hurting but loving it – great post!

  45. urbannight April 14, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    I would love it as a gift, but I just don’t want to spend that much money on it. I would be half way to a good treadmill. I loved my old one but it died the ultimate death and since then I’ve gained 20 lbs or so.

  46. MJ Donnery April 14, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    There are some fantastic workout/yoga DVD’s out these days I love mine, they are so convienient and the best part? No one sees when I screw up! 🙂

  47. devilintheflesh April 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    I did P90x. I did Yogax, and never looked back. Full time yoga for me, baby.

  48. deborahhawkins April 15, 2012 at 12:43 am

    Good points about variety and do your research. I learned something!

  49. Looking Out The Window April 15, 2012 at 8:20 am

    Reblogged this on Finding Fitness in Montana and commented:
    I do have a collection of fitness DVD’s and I am not as passionate about them as him, but they do help me stay in line.

  50. John Saddington April 15, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Reblogged this on 8BIT.

  51. Pingback: Final Insanity Asylum DVD Program (Week 4 Review, Overall Rating & My Results) | ChicFitChef

  52. sara0902 April 15, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Hi 🙂 Nice post, I go to kettlebells classes once a week, I try to do a kettlebells/cardio routine on two other days at home but always find when I start to break a sweat, I get bored or tired and decide to stop. You’ve given me the idea to invest in a DVD or something which at least will give me specific times to work with. Thank you for the article 🙂

  53. Pop Ooh Yeah F.C. April 15, 2012 at 9:57 am

    I’ve never set foot in a gym in my life. I run and cycle, but felt something else was required to change my shape. I’m currently 3 weeks in to Insanity and I’m loving it. It’s the hardest thing I’ve done, completely different workout to a 10 mile run, but I love the challenge.

  54. jkmventura April 15, 2012 at 10:09 am

    I enjoyed your blog and it motivated me to do something active later =D. I don’t any DVD’s of workout routines but I might borrow my friend’s collections.

  55. lijiujiu April 15, 2012 at 10:17 am

    It’s really a great post. Thanks for the recommendations!

  56. laurakatherin April 15, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Point number 4 was a good reminder for me. I feel like I am good at running and yoga, so I tend toward those activities for my exercise, but I also find myself getting bored after a couple of months of just doing those activities. I need to mix it up!

  57. Kelly April 15, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Great post, my thoughts exactly! Most of my friends start to giggle when I admit I have some work-out dvds, so it always makes me happy to hear a positive story about them. I think it’s sad that they have a bad reputation – I guess that’s because there are a lot of bad ones out there. Having said all this, I should probably use ’em again sometime soon. 😛

  58. Pingback: Gettin’ my Butt Kicked | urbanebeast's blog

  59. thevixenisahousewife April 15, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Amen on all levels. I love P90X because Tony tries to make fun of himself a little bit and lets you know that it’s gonna take time before you can complete all the workouts. I am done with these workouts that keep telling you “come one, keep going! Ignore that heart attack, you can DO IT!”.

  60. rp71 April 15, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    Jeez, who are you kidding? Always some reasons to justify oneself…

  61. Homeward Bound and Messing Around April 15, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    I love workout DVDs! When I go to the gym, I always feel self conscious about myself, so DVDs are usually my best bet in getting a good workout. If I’m in my living room, I don’t worry about wearing pajama pants, or letting my cheeks flush bright red as I go through the moves dictated- it is completely about me, with no judgement! I was actually thinking about buying P90x… my roommate in college had it, and I reluctantly tried a couple workouts with her- I have never been as sore, or felt as accomplished after a DVD. Thanks for the great post, you have inspired me to unearth some of my former go-to workouts.

  62. yablogtherapy April 15, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Have you tried Tracy Anderson’s work out DVDs? I couldn’t get past the warm-up! Thank goodness I could do it in the privacy of my own home.

  63. staceykatheryn April 15, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Like a pterodactyl backin’ out of trouble! 🙂 I LOVE P90X, it got me over a serious back injury and I’ve been able to take back my life pain free. I totally understand how important and wonderful these programs are. I’m glad you’ve blogged about these, I talk them up a whole lot too. Good luck! 🙂

  64. angelique523 April 15, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    I laughed so hard at some of these comments and I totally agree with the lady who said “it hurts”. Great writing! Keep up the great work.

  65. publishnprosper April 16, 2012 at 12:19 am

    Thanks for your article. It’s so interesting and sounds just like what I do except I burned videos from YouTube and work out to them.

  66. spinoza1111 April 16, 2012 at 2:38 am

    Plus the girls are hot!

  67. Trevor Smith April 16, 2012 at 3:17 am

    When my friend first tried to make me start P90X with him, I told him I wasn’t a soccer mom and so didn’t do home workouts. Then I did back and biceps. I thought I was good at pull ups. HA!

  68. Argorok April 16, 2012 at 3:46 am

    Those workout dvds better have some hot chicks inside. To do push-ups… with no hands 😉

  69. Nishita April 16, 2012 at 4:13 am

    I have the Nike Training Club fitness app on my iPad. I used to do this a year back before I had a baby. They totally kick-ass. The only downside, I know it’s going to be tough and so I am dreading to even start on them now 😦

  70. glamblogmadeli April 16, 2012 at 4:32 am

    Also started with P90, but find it really hard to keep it up everyday. Not because its too hard or i don’t have the time, but I just don’t like the idea when I’m working at my desk in my everyday to get dresses in gym clothes, be all sweaty after thirty minutes and having to take a shower 😛 terrible huh! any tips?

  71. Tinkerbell April 16, 2012 at 5:52 am

    Thanks so much for this post 🙂 DVD workouts are definitely my kind of exercise program, besides running. I love staying at home, writing my ass off and keeping my beautiful dorkiness to myself. Good to get encouragement from someone else to stay at home, hehe.

  72. deborah caleb April 16, 2012 at 5:58 am

    i’ve never heard of the ones you mentioned above, but i’ll give them a whirl. i started using home videos about a year ago and really like them. i was so suprised. i used “the firm” and “Jari Love”.
    I definitley like it better than going to the gym, mainly because of the much reduced travel time, and I don’t need to endure the trawma of dirty showers.

  73. That Healthy Fitness Chick April 16, 2012 at 7:29 am

    You are my twinsie! I officially love you ❤ Are you a BB coach? Cause if you're not you for cereals should be!

  74. stephanieandtapan April 16, 2012 at 9:32 am

    My husband and I own both p90’s (x and x2) and I also own Beachbody’s Brazilian Butt. Love em all! Fantastic!

  75. natasiarose April 16, 2012 at 10:20 am

    I love the work out channel! It offers such a variety of different work outs so it doesn’t boring. Beachbody totally kicks my butt.

  76. heidihanyu April 16, 2012 at 11:09 am

    So true. I work out 3 times a week and look great. I pretty much eat anything and never worry about not toned 🙂

  77. roundtoravishing April 16, 2012 at 11:23 am

    I love workout DVDs too! Half way through Les Mills Pump and my results so far are amazing. Maybe I will pick up p90x next!

  78. Nancy Loderick April 16, 2012 at 11:42 am

    Welcome to the P90X club! Have you tried P90X2 yet? It’s just as intense as P90X, but in a very different way. You work your core a lot.

    Keep pressing play 🙂

    Nancy

  79. hangryhippo April 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Reblogged this on Hangry Hippo and commented:
    Absolutely fantastic and true!

  80. hangryhippo April 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I’m totally reblogging this! And I completely agree–sometimes I just want to hide out in my house, not deal with gym culture, but still get excercise, and I love me some work out videos. Amen.

  81. Pingback: Which DVD Workout Works For You? Reviews! « a musing.

  82. quirksofthemind April 16, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Personally love fitness DVDs … And so much cheaper than gym membership

  83. From The Pews April 16, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Congrats on Getting Freshly Pressed!

    And though I like some fitness DVD’s…Dude, I get BORED!

    Thus, I would much rather attend the competitive, adrenaline-packed Gym 😉
    IF I ONLY HAD THE TIME 😕

    Congrats again!

  84. crystal marie April 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    Loved this blog post. I’ve gone back and forth between work out dvd’s and the gym. Basically, variety in your work out will help keep you motivated. I’ve gotten into some dvd’s at home, and then to mix it up it’s nice to hit the gym and attend a class. There are some great work out dvd’s, p90x is one i haven’t tried yet but am really interested in it. It might be my next challange for myself.

  85. Janis Justis HSP April 16, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    F yah to all five! You are right on. As one who has used same three times per week, at least, for 25 years, they are the best. No air polluting commute to get stuck in on the way to the gym, no memberships renewed without me knowing it, etc etc etc no gym fashion expenditures, the shower is just up the hall and clothes are any old thing (except shoes, gotta have great shoes). Well done and a nice share. Thank you and best of luck on your workout future. Love this!

  86. housewifedownunder April 16, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    My sister and her boyfriend had good results with P90X. I’m partial to Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred myself. I’m not looking to be entertained by a workout- I expect them to be a bit boring- so I like that 30 Day Shred is a very short workout. I’ve gotten good results with it. I definitely prefer a workout DVD to going to the gym!

  87. Claudia April 17, 2012 at 3:58 am

    I really liked the way you worded your “Education” point. Before actually trying to educate myself on how to be healthy, I had horrible habits. Looking back, it’s amazing I wasn’t more unhealthy given how little I knew.

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about P90X…I might have to try it out sometime.

    Enjoyable post!

  88. php programiranje April 17, 2012 at 6:05 am

    p90x is great video pack. I semi followed one 90 days turn but had very nice success with my weight loss

  89. Kayla Hoffman April 17, 2012 at 8:34 am

    So happy to read this! Are you a fellow coach? Even if this post reaches one person who realizes it’s time to make a change… Congrats on being “freshly pressed!” I’ll be checking back in!

  90. shannmark April 17, 2012 at 10:11 am

    I have been thinking of trying P90X, and after reading this I really want to. Thanks for the info. Congrats on FP!

  91. thebalancetheory April 17, 2012 at 11:25 am

    variety is KEY in staying in shape and killing boredom. love it.

  92. Kate April 18, 2012 at 7:37 am

    Gawd, Tony Horton is hot. Thanks for the post…I am also a home DVD workout devotee.

Leave a Reply

